Our Mission & Vision

Our mission is to reduce the trauma of child abuse by assisting in the investigation, assessment, prosecution, and ongoing treatment. As an organization, it is our vision that every child is entitled to a life free of violence and full of possibilities.

Hope of South Texas

About the Organization

In January 2002, the children’s advocacy component of Hope of South Texas, Inc was established. The 501 (c)(3) organization was established to assist in combating child abuse by partnering with: Law Enforcement Agencies, Texas Department of Family & Protective Services – Children’s Protective Investigations, District Attorneys, Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners, and Mental Health Professionals.

Hope of South Texas is a proud of the Children’s Advocacy Centers of Texas, which is the most developed statewide children’s advocacy membership association in the nation. Hope of South Texas, as an associate member of Children’s Advocacy Centers of Texas, is on its path to becoming an accredited member of the National Children’s Alliance.

Staff & Leadership

Hope of South Texas is comprised of a team of qualified professionals with a vast knowledge of child protection, child abuse identification and prevention, and child development.


Meagen Gumm, LCSW-S

Executive DIrector

Misty Kulik

Financial Administrator

Kim Ozment-Gold

Administrative Assistant/Backup Family Advocate

Heather Clayton, LCSW - Program Director

Trauma Trained

Clinical Department

Hope of South Texas Clinical Team are dedicated to staying up to date on training and education specific to dealing with trauma. Clinical staff will provide trauma treatment that best fits the needs of each individual. Current treatments include, Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT), Child and Family Traumatic Stress Intervention (CFTSI), Eye movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR).

Stefanie Thayer, LPC

Trauma Trained

Emily Woods

Family Advocate/Forensic Interviewer

Education Outreach Department

Brashad Young

Education & Outreach Coordinator

[email protected]

Intake Department

Yasmin Rios

MDT Support Specialist

[email protected]

Monica Wall

Family Advocate

[email protected]

Aaron Gohlke

Intake Support Specialist

[email protected]

Myra Garcia

Forensic Interviewer

[email protected]

Michelle Rubio

Lead Forensic Interviewer

[email protected]

Board of Directors

Deputy Chief Eline Moya


Diane Kliem

Vice President

Ellen Vallejo-Smith


Gary Worsham


Sheriff Justin Marr

Constance Filley Johnson

Victoria County District Attorney

Thomas Dillard

Jackson County Assistant District Attorney

Elaine Everett-Hensley

Jill Hawkins

Investigations Supervisor, Child Protective Investigations

Teri Moten

Heidi Wolf

Christopher Krejci

Monica Rodriquez

1st Community Bank, Vice President

Darlyn Williams

April Butler

Jessica Gray